Happy New Year

Standard

I normally don’t do New Year’s Resolutions simply because I’m pretty motivated no matter what year it is.  If I really want to do something, I do it.  Or try.  But as a famous Jedi master once said, “Do, or do not.  There is no try.”  Maybe that will be my mantra for 2012.  For the first time, I actually feel like the new year is a new beginning of sorts.  Maybe because 2011 was such a blur.  We had just begun getting used to the whole pregnancy thing, living with 13 other people, and wondering how God would sweep in and save the day…on several fronts.  Again.  Seriously, its like a Deus Ex Machina thing ever since we’ve been married.  Whether its finances, living situations, or people we barely know suddenly popping into our lives, the miraculous happens…and did happen.  A lot.

Look at 2012: here we are in a great condo, (barely) making rent.  Not to mention we found this place with only a few days to spare.  Somehow I get to stay home with our daughter, doing a little work from home.  I may have some theatre stuff on the horizon.  I think I recall saying to someone in college, “I just want to get married and have a family.  I can do some of this theatre stuff on the side.”  Its amazing how that actually happened!  But I digress…  New Years Resolution.

I’m taking the typical “lose weight” path.  I took a stab at it a couple times during the holiday’s but I knew I wouldn’t really be serious until the cookies stopped rolling in.  And…I needed to stop myself from baking them.  Eric and I have been on a slew of diets during our marriage which actually worked, so I know it can be done.  We both share a love of food that we need to keep in check sometimes.

I remember when I decided in college I was tired of being fat, so I did the Weight Watchers thing.  I had just started and I knew I could, and would (and did) do it.  But there was a point right at the beginning when  I was talking to the best friend of my crush at the time.  Lets call him Bob.  The “friend” didn’t know how to talk to women yet, and said something about how Bob wouldn’t be interested because he doesn’t like fat girls.  I know.  Looking back, I wonder how I kept my cool, and told the friend I was going to lose forty pounds, by the way.  And I did.  Bob still didn’t like me after that, but I liked myself a lot more.  I was doing it for me, by the way.  I’ve fluctuated a bunch since then, but have hit a high point again because of the pregnancy.  I need to drop thirty.

I’m so thankful for a husband who loves me, no matter how much I fluctuate.  He’s much more my perfect “other” than I could ever have asked for or imagined.  Thanks again, God.

Here’s to 2012!

2 responses »

  1. Hey Quinn! I saw your blog post on facebook, so I came to check it out! You said you recall saying to somebody in college, I just want to get married and have a family, and do theater on the side! I believe that is a conversation we had! Remember when you lived a few houses down from us? Anyway, I think it is great that you’ve been able to achieve all that! James and I are thinking about having kids soon too!

Leave a Reply

