Aftershock and growth spurts

Standard

Counting the minutes until Vi’s first nap of the day.  She slept until 5:30am today.  I suppose I should be grateful she did not wake up at 3am like she was doing.  Yay.  Its this growth spurt stuff.  Its messed with her sleep, but I think my milk supply has caught up finally.  Even so, the pediatrician wanted me to start Viola on rice cereal with breast milk in it.  I said no.  If its purely for “socialization” and not nutrition, I would rather not give her cereal–there are so many other starch alternatives with more nutrition in them than sludge.  I was thinking that maybe we can try sweet potatoes.  I was hoping to wait until Vi is clearly interested in food, but I’m thinking maybe an intro would be interesting.

I watched a movie called Aftershock yesterday.  Its a Chinese film about a family who fell victim to the 1976 Tangshan Earthquake.  The special effects were good, but it was super long.  I almost didnt make it through because the mom saw her kids buried under the rubble.  She had to choose between the two of them who to save since the slab they were under would crush the other one when one side was lifted.  I was horrified.  I think I’ve become soft especially when it comes to children in movies now.  I guess its better than desensitization.  The mother chooses to save her son, and is plagued by guilt for the 30+ years afterward.  It turns out that the daughter lives and doesn’t contact her mother for 32 years.  The daughter secretly surviving is the only clever plot point, and the rest was just filler.  I would recommend the first 20 minutes of this film, if only for the earthquake CGI and if you’re interested in that point in history.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

