Frumpy Mom (me) and Macbeth

Standard

Viola is going through her four month growth spurt.   I know this because she’s sleeping a lot during the day and eating a lot too.  Writing a blog entry is one of the only things I can think of to do that wont wake her up.  But I’m not sure what to write…

I got a call from PGCC offering me a Prop Supervisor position for Macbeth…and its actually doable.  I will have a competent assistant that I will be semi-training.  With an assistant, I don’t have to be there as much, and thats huge because of how dang far the place is.  Im really excited.  In fact, I’m incredibly relieved that my fears of falling off the theatre planet were just that: fears.  In the meantime, I think I might generate a connection with a university near me and see where that goes.

Speaking of fears, I remember when I first got pregnant with Viola, I told my dad I wasn’t too keen on the mom thing.  I mean, having a baby with Eric sounded exciting and scary, but I was referring to the “mom image” stuff.  You know those moms at the grocery store…sweatpants, no makeup, stuck in the house too long.  THATS scary.  I was afraid I would lose touch with the outside world, not seeing beyond my poop-filled diaper-y day.  And there would be no reality beyond thinking my (get ready for offensive statement…) snot-nosed kid is the most perfect kid on the planet–don’t you want to see more pictures of him/her??!!  That is offensive, yes, but you all know what I’m talking about.

Well, guess what I’m wearing today?  Sweatpants.  Makeup?  Yes, but very little.  Just because I want Eric to still think his wife isn’t ultra-frumpy.  Do I think Viola is the most beautiful, perfect, amazing kid in the world?  Duh.  Minus the snot-nosed part.  Lots of drool, though.  Do I care?  Not in the least.  I do try and be sensitive not to talk about the sleep cycles of my child to people who don’t ask…and the mundane details of her jabbering each day.  I only share that with family and Godparents!  And on my blog.  Its MY blog!!

I think since I have never been too keen on other people’s kids, I want to be somewhat sensitive to that in other people towards my kid.  I think that’s why people who are naturally good with kids impress me…lots.  I’m the awkward one who is too much of a party pooper to play spontaneous tag with a little kid.  I was the youngest, after all.  What do I do with these little people?  Eric and I have babysat a handful of times, and ended up teaching about the dangers of diabetes through Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Not to mention the unfortunate Animal Cruelty in Milo and Otis.  Yeah, we’re awkward.  But I think having our own kid will help.  Speaking of which, she’s awake!  Duty (doody) calls…

 

3 responses »

  1. Congrats on the job! That’s exciting! I know what you mean about all of this. I sometimes catch myself talking to Paul or someone else about nothing except the baby, and I don’t like that. We still have other stuff in common. And like I’ve said before, I know it’s going to be a good day when I put on pants with a button and plug in some kind of hair-doing appliance. 😉 Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

