Movie Review: Lovely, Still

Standard

As I was perusing Netflix instant, I came across Lovely, Still with Martin Landau.  It is a story set at Christmas about an elderly bachelor who is asked out on a date by his new neighbor.  It got four stars, so I gave it a chance, and I was not disappointed.

The film begins as a straight-forward , charming look into the awkward process of dating into your senior years.  Don’t mistake this for a “grumpy Old Men” remake, because its far from it.  The film weaves a deeper story that will leave you wrapped up in these two people’s love for each other.  Its a great date-night movie for you and your spouse with a holiday feel, but with surprising depth.  And from someone who is picky about love stories (dare I say chick flicks?  Bleck!), this is a great pick.

3 responses »

  1. We saw this during my weary first trimester. I fell asleep (not at all a reflection of the movie!), but Ryan loved it. I might have to watch it again now that I have more energy. 🙂

  2. My dear daughter….
    Am loving your blogging…Please don’t stop.

    Your self expression has always been one of your many strengths.
    Now I can see Motherhood also agrees with you.
    loving you….see you soon.

  3. Ha! I really like your movie reviews- they are really well written and articulated. I think it’s funny that you trust Netflix- I don’t, but it sounds like it’s working for you. HI JULIE!!! (not that you’ll prob. read or see this!)

Leave a Reply

