Lady Death-strike and her mom with the clippers

Standard

Good part of the day: Viola napped a bunch today…its the daddy vibes since Eric had the day off.  But this morning she slashed her face with her extra long baby claws (google Lady Deathstrike), causing the most heart wrenching sound that has yet to come out of her.  She has drawn blood before with those nails, but never cried quite like this.  It was terrible.  In the end, she was just fine, but she had a red, raised scratch on her cheek.

It was time to clip her nails, we knew, but there hasn’t been a good time to do it.  When she’s awake, she’s too squirmy.  When she’s asleep, the clipping sound startles her awake and she jerks her hands.  When she’s nursing, she clenches and kneads her little fists like a kitten.  Eric was feeding her this evening from a bottle when I took a stab at it.  Yes, pun intended.  On the first nail, I clipped her skin, and she began to bleed and cry like she did this morning.  That cry just about broke me.  I almost ran upstairs and hid in a dark corner.  It took me awhile to get ahold of myself, but after a moment, she was just fine again.  We disinfected the cut and put her to bed without any crying.  She got three bedtime songs this evening instead of the one, and she smiled and chatted at me while I sang.  I think that made up for it!  I know this is just the beginning of unintentionally hurting my child, but at least now she won’t hold it against me.

4 responses »

  1. Sagan has scratched himself pretty regularly as well. He gets MAD! One time Ryan was holding Sagan when the scratching occured. Well Sagan’s young mind doesn’t realize he is the one hurting himself so he went with the nearest person. His face got red, his bottom lip stuck out and he looked directly at his annointed scapegoat (Ryan) and expressed his dissatisfaction in the clearest terms he has at his disposal.

    “MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHHHHHHH!”

    We have been having luck clipping his nails as he sleeps, so hopefully Daddy will be off the hook in the future. 🙂

  2. Hehe I bite Scotty’s finger nails! While he is nursing I just grab those fingers and bite the nails hehe. I’ve tried the clippers on his toes but am always to nervous that not much gets cut, I’ve gotten better recently at cutting the toenails just after I change him. Good luck and you can do it!

Leave a Reply

